Rock & Roll Hall of Famers ZZ TOP will drop the needle into the groove for a new vinyl set that takes listeners on a rocking ride through the long running Texas trio’s early years.

Rock & Roll Hall of Famers ZZ TOP will drop the needle into the groove for a new vinyl set that takes listeners on a rocking ride through the long running Texas trio’s early years. Cinco: The First Five LPs will be released July 7, pressed on heavyweight 180-gram vinyl, presented in a box made to look like the custom 'Nudie Suits' worn by the band on stage.

Gibbons, Dusty Hill and Frank Beard released five albums between 1971 and 1976, including ZZ Top’s First Album, Rio Grande Mud, Tres Hombres, Fandango! and Tejas. Cinco begins with the band’s 1971 debut, ZZ Top’s First Album. Recorded at Robin Hood Studios in Tyler, Texas, the record helped establish the group’s signature blues-rock sound with tracks like “(Somebody Else Been) Shaking Your Tree” and “Brown Sugar”.

The group returned to Tyler to record its follow-up, Rio Grande Mud, which was released in April 1972 and included fan favourites “Just Got Paid” and “Bar-B-Q” as well as the lead single “Francine”.

ZZ TOP’s third album, Tres Hombres was the band’s commercial breakthrough. Released in the summer of 1973, it was the trio’s first Australian Top 40 record thanks to hit “La Grange” and radio favourites like “Jesus Just Left Chicago” and “Waitin’ For The Bus”, all of which are still staples of the group’s tour set list to this day.

Released in 1975, Fandango! featured US Top 40 single "Tush", which was spontaneously written in just a few minutes during sound check at a dirt-floored rodeo arena in Florence, Alabama.  The album is a combination of the live tracks that comprise Side 1, recorded at The Warehouse in New Orleans, and studio recordings on Side 2. The album also included standouts like “Mexican Blackbird” and “Heard It On The X”, the band’s tribute to mega-wattage radio stations just south of the border.

The final album included in Cinco is Tejas, which hit the Top 20 on the US album chart on the strength of tracks like “It’s Only Love” and “Arrested For Driving While Blind”.


Side One

  1. (Someone Else Been) Shaking Your Tree
  2. Brown Sugar
  3. Squank
  4. Goin’ Down To Mexico
  5. Old Man

Side Two

  1. Neighbor, Neighbor
  2. Certified Blues
  3. Bedroom Thang
  4. Just Got Back From Baby’s
  5. Backdoor Love Affair


Side One

  1. Francine
  2. Just Got Paid
  3. Mushmouth Shoutin’
  4. Ko Ko Blue
  5. Chevrolet

Side Two

  1. Apologies To Pearly
  2. Bar-B-Q
  3. Sure Got Cold After The Rain Fell
  4. Whiskey’n Mama
  5. Down Brownie


Side One

  1. Waitin’ For The Bus
  2. Jesus Just Left Chicago
  3. Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers
  4. Master of Sparks
  5. Hot, Blue And Righteous

Side Two

  1. Move Me On Down The Line
  2. Precious And Grace
  3. La Grange
  4. Shiek


Side One

  1. Thunderbird
  2. Jailhouse Rock
  3. Backdoor Medley
  4. Backdoor Love Affair
  5. Mellow Down Easy
  6. Backdoor Love Affair No. 2
  7. Long Distance Boogie

Side Two

  1. Nasty Dogs And Funky Kings
  2. Blue Jean Blues
  3. Balinese
  4. Mexican Blackbird
  5. Heard It On The X
  6. Tush


Side One

  1. It’s Only Love
  2. Arrested For Driving While Blind
  3. El Diablo
  4. Snappy Kakkie
  5. Enjoy And Get It On

Side Two

  1. Ten Dollar Man
  2. Pan Am Highway Blues
  3. Avalon Hideaway
  4. She’s A Heartbreaker
  5. Asleep In The Desert

Cinco: The First Five LPs will be released July 7 and is available to pre-order now.